None of my RAM Working

User avatar
GuruMeditation
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 9:49 am
Has thanked: 1 time

None of my RAM Working

Unread post by GuruMeditation »

Hello all,

So after my Mister build has been sleeping for more than one year, i've decided to setup it again.
I've had build a 32MB years ago and ordered a new 128MB module.

I've encounter problems with cores that need SDRAM and none of them work, so i've decided to run Memtest against the two SDRam modules and none of them works. They are well recognized by the Mister OSD but none of them passed memtest.

I've tried to clean GPIO pins but i still have the same problem.

Here's a small videos of the tests i've done on the 128MB module :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EE5pK3ftqck

Does anyone have an idea about the problem and it's fix ? As two modules failed, i think the cause is the DE10, but i want to know if someone have an idea about this before buying a new DE10.

Thanks for your answers :)
User avatar
Nat
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:28 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 54 times
Contact:

Re: None of my RAM Working

Unread post by Nat »

It maybe is a faulty DE10-Nano.

You can also test the FPGA and HPS side of your DE10 Nano, see Terasics PDF Notes For DE10-Nano Users

I recommend you run a core which does not actually require a memory module installed, TurboGrafx-16 or Genesis are fine to see if you have an issue with the FPGA.

You should also run the MiSTer memtest core for longer than shown in your video it will always error to start with at the high clock values and then down clock after each error detected, until it finds a stable speed.

However the fact you report both SDRAM modules are failing points towards the DE10-Nano being the root of your issue.
MiSTer FPGA Add-On Boards : UK based, low cost worldwide shipping.
https://MiSTerFPGA.co.uk/
User avatar
GuruMeditation
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 9:49 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: None of my RAM Working

Unread post by GuruMeditation »

Hello Nat,

Thanks for your answer, i also think that the fault is on DE10-Nano, i've test the Genesis core without SDRAM and it works like a charm !
The memtest even running longer show errors at 70Mhz.

If anyone have an idea ? Thanks :)
cursedverses
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:13 pm
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: None of my RAM Working

Unread post by cursedverses »

Did you keep running memtest? I watched the video and you only reached 150 before you moved to the next test. (NB: I haven't seen the other test you run?) I know my memory fails until it hits it's reliable speed of 144. Some may work at a higher number, some less.
User avatar
GuruMeditation
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 9:49 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: None of my RAM Working

Unread post by GuruMeditation »

Hi cursedverses,

Thanks for your answer, i have capture a full test running until 70Mhz, here's the video :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j3oPEeCF09s

Same result with my 32Mb SDRAM Module
cursedverses
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:13 pm
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: None of my RAM Working

Unread post by cursedverses »

I didn't realise it was Nat that responded earlier - I wouldn't have added...
klez
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2021 9:48 am

Re: None of my RAM Working

Unread post by klez »

I have the same issue as @GuruMeditation. Were you able to pin point the problem? Was the de-10 faulty? Did you run official user-
acceptance testing provided by Terasic?
Post Reply