Atari System 1 & 2

User avatar
LamerDeluxe
Top Contributor
Posts: 1144
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:25 pm
Has thanked: 781 times
Been thanked: 254 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by LamerDeluxe »

HerrBerzerk wrote: Sun Aug 27, 2023 8:50 am

Hi,

a lot of the system 1 roms added by update all are not working. They report missing a file like 136040 and similar.

E.g. MarbleMadness v1 is working, v4 not. The Roadblaster Upright is mostly working, Cabinet versions not. Roadrunner only 1 out of 3 Versions is working...

Is it normal and will be fixed?

I have the same problem. Might be that the core has to define the correct MAME ROM versions more correctly.

Sparkoids
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2022 10:16 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by Sparkoids »

I also get graphical glitches with Roadrunner with the main character disappearing from time to time...

User avatar
FatSlob71
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2020 10:11 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by FatSlob71 »

Same issue here update all di not download correct romsets missing 13000 something in the zip files! ???

Grechy34
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2022 10:46 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by Grechy34 »

Sparkoids wrote: Mon Sep 11, 2023 4:23 am

I also get graphical glitches with Roadrunner with the main character disappearing from time to time...

Yep same here.

rcade
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 7:57 pm
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by rcade »

Do these cores require 128M SDRAM? My older MiSTer with 32M seems to have corrupted graphics with this core...

User avatar
Hodor
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:29 am
Has thanked: 351 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by Hodor »

rcade wrote: Sat Oct 21, 2023 12:28 am

Do these cores require 128M SDRAM? My older MiSTer with 32M seems to have corrupted graphics with this core...

I don´t think so. With 32MB they should work just fine.

User avatar
Morfious
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 10:49 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by Morfious »

Just FYI it looks like a new version was released on 10/20/2023. I have not tested the new updated version yet.

https://github.com/d18c7db/atari_system ... r/releases

User avatar
LamerDeluxe
Top Contributor
Posts: 1144
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:25 pm
Has thanked: 781 times
Been thanked: 254 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by LamerDeluxe »

Morfious wrote: Sat Oct 21, 2023 4:47 pm

Just FYI it looks like a new versin was released on 10/20/2023. I have not tested the new updated version yet.

https://github.com/d18c7db/atari_system ... r/releases

Great to see it being actively developed! Looking forward to trying the updates.

rcade
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 7:57 pm
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by rcade »

Hodor wrote: Sat Oct 21, 2023 9:56 am
rcade wrote: Sat Oct 21, 2023 12:28 am

Do these cores require 128M SDRAM? My older MiSTer with 32M seems to have corrupted graphics with this core...

I don´t think so. With 32MB they should work just fine.

All of the System 1 games seem to have corrupted graphics with 32M SDRAM.

User avatar
Hodor
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:29 am
Has thanked: 351 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by Hodor »

rcade wrote: Sat Oct 21, 2023 7:56 pm
Hodor wrote: Sat Oct 21, 2023 9:56 am
rcade wrote: Sat Oct 21, 2023 12:28 am

Do these cores require 128M SDRAM? My older MiSTer with 32M seems to have corrupted graphics with this core...

I don´t think so. With 32MB they should work just fine.

All of the System 1 games seem to have corrupted graphics with 32M SDRAM.

That´s weird. They are not big games that demand lots or RAM.

Beeble
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:04 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by Beeble »

I cant get Indiana Jones and Roadblaster to work. Usually a file missing in the zip, one time bad parsing.

Anyone tried deleting the roms and downloading again? Can we fix it ourself or just be patient?

evdberg
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2021 1:35 pm

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by evdberg »

I noticed that the MRA files are based on the split rom sets, but the updateall script downloads from the merged files. After I corrected the MRA files I got shuffled graphics, as if they have a misaligned offset. As I read above, I also have the (old) 32MB ram expansion, but it seems all the graphics are there, only misaligned.

shertz
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by shertz »

I noticed that Indiana Jones game audio is a little bit off. The background music overpowers the sample speech audio. And the sample speech audio seems to come in a little bit early then it's supposed to

d18c7db
Core Developer
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 8:00 pm
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by d18c7db »

There was in fact a problem with the 32MB SDRAM address multiplexing causing that issue and that has been fixed. I have released the System-1 in the official MiSTer repo since all the major problems affecting gameplay have been addressed.

User avatar
LamerDeluxe
Top Contributor
Posts: 1144
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:25 pm
Has thanked: 781 times
Been thanked: 254 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by LamerDeluxe »

d18c7db wrote: Sun Dec 03, 2023 8:13 am

There was in fact a problem with the 32MB SDRAM address multiplexing causing that issue and that has been fixed. I have released the System-1 in the official MiSTer repo since all the major problems affecting gameplay have been addressed.

I noticed that running update_all yesterday! Roadblasters looks fantastic now.

fierman
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2022 11:08 pm
Has thanked: 83 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by fierman »

The controls for Road Runner seem to be partially not working now. Up and Down do not register in-game.

Spazmoid
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2023 12:30 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by Spazmoid »

Is anyone having trouble with controls on these cores - no up/down works in any core (road runner, Roadblasters) on the joystick assignment whether I try to reconfigure/remap whatever? Any ideas on what might be causing this?

Lloyd2084
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2022 8:11 pm
Has thanked: 102 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by Lloyd2084 »

I couldn’t get Roadblasters to take input for the pedal. It doesn’t give me the option to enter an input for them.

Swainy
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat May 22, 2021 9:07 am
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by Swainy »

Lloyd2084 wrote: Tue Dec 05, 2023 9:00 pm

I couldn’t get Roadblasters to take input for the pedal. It doesn’t give me the option to enter an input for them.

I think that Start & Fire are labelled back to front.

User avatar
bazza_12
Posts: 397
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:49 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Has thanked: 245 times
Been thanked: 112 times
Contact:

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by bazza_12 »

my personal favourite is Paperboy :)

The music is reversible but time is not. Turn back. Turn back
sergiobordon
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2023 10:43 am

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by sergiobordon »

Lloyd2084 wrote: Tue Dec 05, 2023 9:00 pm

I couldn’t get Roadblasters to take input for the pedal. It doesn’t give me the option to enter an input for them.

Same problem here :cry:

User avatar
Alkadian
Top Contributor
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 282 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by Alkadian »

Hey guys,
I haven't updated my mister for a while. Infact I have started from a fresh re-install of everything. Are we still supposed to downoad the required roms manually?
Thanks

Toya
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2021 9:59 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by Toya »

Alkadian wrote: Wed Dec 06, 2023 1:11 pm

Hey guys,
I haven't updated my mister for a while. Infact I have started from a fresh re-install of everything. Are we still supposed to downoad the required roms manually?
Thanks

Either you fetch manually or you enable arcade rom database in the update_all menu

d18c7db
Core Developer
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 8:00 pm
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by d18c7db »

So I heard that a few people have trouble with up/down controls not working in Road Runner despite trying to remap the controls. This isn't a universal problem as there are others who's controls work fine.

I myself am testing with a wired USB 8BitDo controller and all works fine. From the core's perspective, if it receives the directional signals from hps_io it obeys them so this means that for some controllers some signals don't make it all the way to the core for some reason.

Below is the relevant code for directional input for Road Runner for which I have had reports of problems.

Code: Select all

if (adc_addr==3'd0)
	adc_data = joystick_l_analog_0[ 7:0]^8'h7f; // Left=FF Center=80 Right=00
else if (adc_addr==3'd7)
	adc_data = joystick_l_analog_0[15:8]^8'h80; // Down=FF Center=80 Up=00
else
	adc_data = 8'h80;

It makes zero sense why the left/right would work OK but up/down would not. Is this a problem with HPS/sys, something with control mapping?
Can we hear from the people who do and do not have problems and what type controllers they use, maybe the problem is with specific type/brands?

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 319 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by FPGA64 »

d18c7db wrote: Fri Dec 08, 2023 10:21 pm

So I heard that a few people have trouble with up/down controls not working in Road Runner despite trying to remap the controls. This isn't a universal problem as there are others who's controls work fine.

I myself am testing with a wired USB 8BitDo controller and all works fine. From the core's perspective, if it receives the directional signals from hps_io it obeys them so this means that for some controllers some signals don't make it all the way to the core for some reason.

Below is the relevant code for directional input for Road Runner for which I have had reports of problems.

Code: Select all

if (adc_addr==3'd0)
	adc_data = joystick_l_analog_0[ 7:0]^8'h7f; // Left=FF Center=80 Right=00
else if (adc_addr==3'd7)
	adc_data = joystick_l_analog_0[15:8]^8'h80; // Down=FF Center=80 Up=00
else
	adc_data = 8'h80;

It makes zero sense why the left/right would work OK but up/down would not. Is this a problem with HPS/sys, something with control mapping?
Can we hear from the people who do and do not have problems and what type controllers they use, maybe the problem is with specific type/brands?

Similar things have been reported in the N64 core and every time its been that the user has bailed out of the Main Mister Joystick setup before they got to the analog stick setup.

I bet this is the case here

fierman
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2022 11:08 pm
Has thanked: 83 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by fierman »

FPGA64 wrote: Sat Dec 09, 2023 9:10 am

Similar things have been reported in the N64 core and every time its been that the user has bailed out of the Main Mister Joystick setup before they got to the analog stick setup.

I bet this is the case here

Nope. I reconfigured everything on my end here and set up mapping the proper correct way (on two seperate systems), and Up and Down are still not working for digital inputs.

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 319 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by FPGA64 »

The code the Dev posted shows it using an Analog input

fierman
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2022 11:08 pm
Has thanked: 83 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by fierman »

FPGA64 wrote: Sat Dec 09, 2023 5:55 pm

The code the Dev posted shows it using an Analog input

Yes, so? The game should work with d-pad/digital inputs.

d18c7db
Core Developer
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 8:00 pm
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by d18c7db »

fierman wrote: Sat Dec 09, 2023 5:59 pm
FPGA64 wrote: Sat Dec 09, 2023 5:55 pm

The code the Dev posted shows it using an Analog input

Yes, so? The game should work with d-pad/digital inputs.

We spent several days of back and forth on the "issue" you opened claiming that you have a problem with "up" and "down" but now it turns out what you really are on about is that "analog joystick works absolutely fine in all directons but digital d-pad doesn't work".

You even confirmed at one stage that left/right works in game but up/down doesn't which made me wonder how is it possible that horizontal controls work but vertical don't. Throw in your statements about remapping controller and that muddied the waters even more with additional ambiguity if this was a controller mapping issue.

To the best of my ability, I believe what you are actually doing is using mixed controls, so analog controls to go left right but trying to use digital d-pad to go up down which doesn't work by design as the Road Runner core only responds to analog controls.

What you have here is a feature request and I can absolutely do that for you in a future release.

fierman
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2022 11:08 pm
Has thanked: 83 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Atari System 1 & 2

Unread post by fierman »

d18c7db wrote: Sun Dec 10, 2023 10:25 am
fierman wrote: Sat Dec 09, 2023 5:59 pm
FPGA64 wrote: Sat Dec 09, 2023 5:55 pm

The code the Dev posted shows it using an Analog input

Yes, so? The game should work with d-pad/digital inputs.

We spent several days of back and forth on the "issue" you opened claiming that you have a problem with "up" and "down" but now it turns out what you really are on about is that "analog joystick works absolutely fine in all directons but digital d-pad doesn't work".

You even confirmed at one stage that left/right works in game but up/down doesn't which made me wonder how is it possible that horizontal controls work but vertical don't. Throw in your statements about remapping controller and that muddied the waters even more with additional ambiguity if this was a controller mapping issue.

To the best of my ability, I believe what you are actually doing is using mixed controls, so analog controls to go left right but trying to use digital d-pad to go up down which doesn't work by design as the Road Runner core only responds to analog controls.

What you have here is a feature request and I can absolutely do that for you in a future release.

err... it's not a feature request. if digital input now does not work, then we are talking about regression here. Because it did work in the previous version.

Post Reply