How to create symlink to arcade cores? Official guide doesn't work

AmintaMister
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:54 pm
Has thanked: 784 times
Been thanked: 48 times

How to create symlink to arcade cores? Official guide doesn't work

Unread post by AmintaMister »

Hi there!

I'm following the official guide:

Arcade cores cannot be launched using MGL files. If you want to make a shortcut to an arcade core elsewhere in the menu, you'll instead have to symlink (symbolic link) it there.

For example, either through SSH or the console (press F9 from the menu):

ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/dummy.mra /media/fat
ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/cores /media/fat

So for example I've created a folder /media/fat/_test

Inside this folder I type: ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/Poly Play.mra and then ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/cores.

Symlinks are created and if I test them with cat 'Poly Play.mra' and cat /media/fat/_Arcade/cores the file and the dir are found.

So, why when I try to launch the Poly Play.mra symlink from the MiSTer menu it goes back to menu instead to launch the core?

User avatar
dickhardpill
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2024 9:28 pm
Location: Not Portland, OR
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: How to create symlink to arcade cores? Official guide doesn't work

Unread post by dickhardpill »

Have you tried hard rebooting? Sometimes that fixes random issues for me. I have an MRA file and cores linked to /media/fat and can launch them no problem.
I just did;

Code: Select all

mkdir /media/fat/_test
cd /media/fat/_test
ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/Poly\ Play.mra 

and it kicks back to menu
then I added (from /media/fat/_test/)

Code: Select all

ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/cores

and it loads up.

AmintaMister
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:54 pm
Has thanked: 784 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: How to create symlink to arcade cores? Official guide doesn't work

Unread post by AmintaMister »

Ok, I've checked, the problem is with nested folders:

this works:

Code: Select all

mkdir /media/fat/_test
cd /media/fat/_test
ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/Poly\ Play.mra 
ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/cores

this never works:

Code: Select all

mkdir /media/fat/_test/_test2
cd /media/fat/_test/_test2
ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/Poly\ Play.mra 
ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/cores

Thanks for your help!

User avatar
dickhardpill
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2024 9:28 pm
Location: Not Portland, OR
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: How to create symlink to arcade cores? Official guide doesn't work

Unread post by dickhardpill »

Nested folders work but it's not really intuitive
the cores directory needs to be referenced in the first sub of media for some reason.

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /media/fat/_test/_test2
cd /media/fat/_test
ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/cores
cd _test2
ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/target.mra
AmintaMister
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:54 pm
Has thanked: 784 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: How to create symlink to arcade cores? Official guide doesn't work

Unread post by AmintaMister »

dickhardpill wrote: Sat May 11, 2024 1:38 pm

Nested folders work but it's not really intuitive
the cores directory needs to be referenced in the first sub of media for some reason.

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /media/fat/_test/_test2
cd /media/fat/_test
ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/cores
cd _test2
ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/target.mra

Ah, I didn't know, thanks! And - by the way - what about the symlinked .mras created by the Arcadade Organizer script? In that case no symlink for "cores" dir is present, but they work indeed..

User avatar
dickhardpill
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2024 9:28 pm
Location: Not Portland, OR
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: How to create symlink to arcade cores? Official guide doesn't work

Unread post by dickhardpill »

AmintaMister wrote: Sat May 11, 2024 4:59 pm

Ah, I didn't know, thanks! And - by the way - what about the symlinked .mras created by the Arcadade Organizer script? In that case no symlink for "cores" dir is present, but they work indeed..

_Arcade contains the cores directory so it and its subs are covered.

Post Reply